Skip to main content
Thumbnail for Seasons : an introduction to First Nations seasons

Seasons : an introduction to First Nations seasons

Andrews, Munya, 1960-2023
Books, Manuscripts
Ask Aunty: Seasons is a delightful and educational picture book for children aged 5 to 10 years that introduces First Nations seasonal calendars. Have you ever been excited for the first day of summer, only to be disappointed when it arrives cold and rainy? For First Nations People, the seasons don't change when the calendar does. Instead, we can look for changes in plants, animals, water, weather and the stars to mark the start of a new season. Aunty Munya explains how there are six seasons on her Country. Mankal is the rainy season, bringing strong winds from the ocean, while Barrgan is the season when bush fruits are most plentiful. With stunning illustrations by Charmaine Ledden-Lewis, Ask Aunty: Seasons encourages all readers to develop a deeper connection with the land, waters and sky.
Main title:
Seasons : an introduction to First Nations seasons / Aunty Munya Andrews ; illustrated by Charmaine Ledden-Lewis.
Wurundjeri Country ; Richmond, Victoria : Hardie Grant Explore, 2023.
1 volume (unpaged) : colour illustrations ; 27 cm.
Series title:
Cultural sensitivity advisory notice: Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and other First Nations people are advised that this item may contain names, recordings, images, photographs, illustrations and text of deceased people and other content that may be culturally sensitive.
5-10 years old.
9781741178852 (hardback)
Added title:
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list